Skip to main content
Go to homepage

Our Leadership Team

Executive Leadership Team

Gessner, Christopher

Christopher Gessner

President and Chief Executive Officer

Aurilio, Lisa

Lisa Aurilio, MSN, MBA

Chief Operating Officer

Baccon, Jennifer MD, PhD

Jennifer Baccon, MD, PhD, MHCM

Chair, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Medical Director of Value Analysis in Supply Chain

Bhalla, Tarun

Tarun Bhalla, MD, MBA, FAAP

Chair, Anesthesia & Pain Medicine; Pediatric Anesthesiologist

Bigham, Michael MD, pediatric intensivist

Michael Bigham, MD

Chief Quality Officer; Pediatric Intensivist

Brown, Shelly

Shelly Brown, MAOL, CFRE

Executive Director, Akron Children's Hospital Foundation; Vice President, Development

Cohen, Bruce H., MD, pediatric neurologist

Bruce H. Cohen, MD, FAAN

Chair, NeuroDevelopmental Science Center; Philip H. Maynard Chair in NeuroDevelopmental Science Fund; Chairman, American Academy of Neurology Advocacy Committee; Pediatric Neurologist

Daniels, Anthea

Anthea Daniels

Chief Legal Officer

Dwyer, Jennifer MD

Jennifer Dwyer, MD, FAAP

Chief of Primary Care; Pediatrician

Edwards, Gordon

Gordon Edwards

Chief Financial Officer

Forbes, Michael MD

Michael Forbes, MD, FAAP, FCCM

Chief Academic Officer; William H. and Rebecca D. Considine Endowed Chair for Pediatric Research; Head, Rebecca D Considine Research Institute; Immediate Past President, Medical Staff; Pediatric Critical Care Specialist

Foster, Jessica MD, MPH, FAAP

Jessica Foster, MD, MPH, FAAP

Director, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics; The Venner Family Endowed Chair in Autism; Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrician

Friebert, Sarah MD

Sarah Elizabeth Friebert, MD

Director, Pediatric Palliative Care; Pediatric Palliative Care Physician; Sarah Elizabeth Friebert, M.D. Leadership Chair in Pediatric Palliative Care

Grayem, Kristene MSN, CNS, PPCNP-BC, RN-BC

Kristene Grayem, MSN, APRN-CNP

Chief Population Health Officer; Executive Director, Akron Children’s Health Collaborative

Hertle, Richard MD, FAAO, FACS, FAAP

Richard Hertle, MD, FAAO, FACS, FAAP

Director, Pediatric Ophthalmology; Dr. Boomer and Jill Burnstine Endowed Chair in Pediatric Ophthalmology; Pediatric Ophthalmologist

Hord, Jeffrey MD

Jeffrey Hord, MD

Director, Division of Hematology-Oncology; Pediatric Hematologist-Oncologist; LOPen Charities and Mawaka Family Chair in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology; Vice President, American Society of Pediatric Hematology/ Oncology 2023-2024

Khandelwal, Anjay MD

Anjay Khandelwal, MD, FACS, FICS

Director, Paul and Carol David Foundation Burn Institute; Acute/Reconstructive Burn Surgeon; Surgical Critical Care; Director, Pediatric and Adult Cosmetic & Reconstructive Laser Program; The Marci M. Matthews Endowed Chair for Excellence in Burn Care

Kuerbitz, Steven MD

Steven Kuerbitz, MD

Director, Divisional Research, Shannon E. Wilkes Targeted Therapy Program; The Jeffrey A. Barbour Chair for Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Research and Healing; Pediatric Hematologist-Oncologist

Lane, John MD

John Lane, MD, FACC

Director, Pediatric Cardiology and Adult Congenital Heart Service; Pediatric Cardiologist; Sunrise Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiac Surgery

chief human resources officer

Rhonda Larimore

Chief Human Resources Officer

Lyden, Shawn

Shawn Lyden, JD

Chief Strategy Officer

Mahesh, Shefali MD

Shefali Mahesh, MD

Medical Staff President; Dr. Noah Miller Endowed Chair in Pediatric Medicine; Pediatric Nephrologist

McGregor, Robert

Robert McGregor, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Rashid, Harun vice president and chief information officer

Harun Rashid

Chief Information Officer

Ritzman, Todd MD

Todd Ritzman, MD, FAAOS, FAOA

Chair, Department of Orthopedics; Director, Spine Center; Pediatric Orthopedic Surgeon

Rubin, Michael MD

Michael Rubin, MD

Chair, Department of Pediatric Radiology;
Pediatric Radiologist

Rush, Sarah

Sarah Rush, MD

Vice President, Informatics; Chief Medical Information Officer; Pediatric Neuro-Oncologist; Marci M. Matthews Endowed Chair in Telehealth

Vivek Veluchamy, MD

Vivek Veluchamy, MD

The James F. and Marguerite A. Pearson Endowed Chair in NeuroDevelopmental Sciences for Rare Diseases; Pediatric Neurologist

Williams, Bernett

Bernett Williams, MPA

Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer; Vice President for Community Initiatives

Wolfe, Katherine DO

Katherine Wolfe, DO, FACOG

Chair, Maternal-Fetal Medicine; Director, Diabetes and Pregnancy Program; Maternal-Fetal Specialist

Wulkan, Mark, MD

Mark Wulkan, MD, FACS, FAAP

Chair, Department of Surgery; Bruce F. Rothmann, M.D. Endowed Chair in Pediatric Surgery; Pediatric Surgeon

Christine Young, CNO

Christine Young, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, DNP

Grace Wakulchik Endowed Chair for Nursing; Chief of Hospital Based Services; Chief Nursing Officer

Summit Mall Play Area
Answer Key:
Click to expand
There are 10 nurses in the picture.

And we have many more pediatric primary care providers in Northeast Ohio. You can meet some of them here.
Summit Mall Play Area
Answer Key:
Click to expand
The five differences are:
– Phone color
– Coat pocket
– Stethoscope earpiece color
– Stethoscope bell dot
– Clipboard paper color

Need help finding a doctor, choosing a location or getting a general question about Akron Children's answered? Call us or fill out the form and we'll help in any way we can.
Summit Mall Play Area
Answer Key:
Click to expand
The two matching doctors are 9 and 14.

With virtual visits, you can see our pediatric experts from the comfort of home or wherever you are.
Summit Mall Play Area
Answer Key:
Click to expand
The correct path:
The Correct Path
We offer many ways to get pediatric care all over Northeast Ohio. Use this page to find the right kind of care and the most convenient location for you.