Skip to main content Skip to main content
Go to homepage

Akron Children’s announces 2023 summer research scholars

06-06-2023 (Akron, Ohio )

Twelve college students were competitively selected to participate in Akron Children’s Summer Pediatric Research Scholars (SPRS) program this summer.

The students – sophomores or juniors contemplating careers in healthcare – will conduct clinical research projects and be mentored by physicians, surgeons, nurses, therapists and other experienced hospital investigators. These mentors design research projects that focus on enhancing patient safety or quality of care; evaluating effectiveness of new treatments, technologies, or methods; or improving the healthcare experience for patients and families.

“The SPRS program offers highly motivated undergraduate students hands-on experience conducting a clinical research study under the tutelage of Akron Children’s most experienced investigators,” said Dr. Michael Forbes, chief academic officer at Akron Children’s. “At the same time, these students are helping hospital researchers answer significant questions to improve patient care.”

SPRS students also attend weekly educational classes on biomedical research and shadow Akron Children’s clinical teams in several pediatric medical disciplines. The 10-week program begins in June and culminates in August when the students present their research study results to members of Akron Children’s medical staff, researchers, academic partners, family members and peers.

In previous years, some of these projects have been presented and received awards at national conferences. Some have led to published research and have resulted in new protocols for treatment.

Akron Children’s 2023 Summer Pediatric Research Scholars are:

·       Jonathan Evanick, Kent State University, Richmond Heights

·       Kiara Grow, Heidelberg University, North Canton

·       Grace Henderson, The University of Akron, Belle Vernon, PA

·       Manith Humchad, The University of Akron, Broadview Heights

·       Ria Khetan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Charlotte, NC

·       Maria Lonneman, Kent State University, Suffield

·       Nadia Pokrajac, The Ohio State University, Richfield

·       Avery Probst, Kent State University, Youngstown

·       Bella Procaccio, University of Cincinnati, Suffield

·       Natalie Schmitt, Taylor University, Canton

·       Hunter Swartz, Malone College, Massillon

·       Razeen Thammachack, The Ohio State University, Akron

By using this site, you consent to our use of cookies. To learn more, read our privacy policy.